3 Comments

The Power of ParticipAction

While enjoying an absolutely beautiful day in what has become the warmest & shortest winter Toronto has seen for a while. I found myself thinking a few rather interesting thoughts. I first thought ‘there is true power in participation’ yet at the same time I thought ‘it is equally important to know when to stand down and wait for right time, or in effect to do Nothing’. Those thoughts were so profound to me that I stopped to write them down and felt strongly that I needed to blog about this discovery. So here I am blogging about my thought bulbs on the street; below I explore the first part of that thought, or,

The Power of Participation!

I have always been a doer, but after coming from a low moment in life it can be very difficult to get back in the game.  I am thankful though that I have rediscovered the power of participation. Even before the year started I felt a strong conviction to DO! I figured whether or not 2012 was mankind’s last year of existence I was going to make it a power year, one that defined the momentum forward for the rest of my life. Having made that decision I committed to participation. To saying yes to every learning opportunity that came my way and to enthusiastically embrace life!

Zumba and Nia

That decision has led to some great adventures so far, some more excruciating than others. For example the enjoyable yet painful Yoga, Nia, Zumba, Fitness for Food fundraiser, which was organized by one of our Traveling Black Chicks @ University of Toronto’s Hart House. The workout left me sore in every cell of my body; I had never done Nia or Zumba before and though I came out of those four hours with pain in places I didn’t know existed, I felt so great at the end of the session that I would actually do it again. Just yesterday I sat through an Animation class that saw each of us in the class creating pretty cool animated films with a photo camera and light pen! (see results in the video below). To look at the video it may not make much sense but through this class I understood clearly that it’s truly not the destination but the journey. I may never become an animator but having experienced that class brought me great joy, I felt like kid discovering a new toy!

Of course deciding to to fully jump into life can sometimes lead to enthusiastically saying yes to too many things. However I am learning to find and focus my energies on the activities and opportunities that are connected to my purpose.

Through participation I am more consciously  aware of the true power to be found in making a decision and taking action.  After every new activity, or lesson learned, I am more motivated, more interested and more focused. I am happy when I challenge myself to try things that scare the shit out me or that may not sit right with others. I have also been getting comfortable with the uncomfortable feeling that comes with saying No, and not feel guilty about it. Through participation I see my thoughts manifest faster than I can think them and with every action I become more confident even within life’s uncertainty.

There is a remarkable quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson that comes to mind here,- ‘when you make a decision the universe conspires to make it happen’.  I see this everyday, simple things like finding intern opportunities or free classes to enhance specific skills that I decide I want to learn; or access to people, or opportunities as a result of great friendships, I see all of this as I consciously take the small steps towards my bigger dreams. By being aware and participating in as many of the blessings that come my way, by pushing through even in the moments when I really don’t want to, by making decisions and taking action I have found real and true power.

So today I say step into your Power and make a decision to Consciously Participate in your Life!

As Always I am yours

A Traveling Black Chick!

LH

About Black Chick

A silent seeker. Living Loud! Fascinated with the world! Producer, Director, Writer, Entrepreneur

3 comments on “The Power of ParticipAction

  1. Nice Lucy glad to have you back in the game

  2. […] to do NOTHING! Yes,yes on some level it does go against everything that I wrote in my earlier post The Power of ParticipAction . The secret I have discovered however, is that life is all about balance and timing (indeed […]

Leave a Reply

